Oh, the pressure of the first post

Standard

Here it is, my first blog post since my high school days and that awkward affair with Livejournal (I didn’t know what I was doing, neither did Livejournal, but I’ve forgiven and forgotten). I always feel so much pressure in writing the first post — that in 500 words I have to be witty, entertaining, insightful, provide my life story and convince everyone that they should read my blog again and again. I doubt I’ll be able to do all of that, but I like a challenge, so I’ll give it a whirl:

I’m a 28-year-old female, born and raised in Rhode Island, but currently a resident of Hickory, North Carolina. I didn’t necessarily want to move below the Mason-Dixon line, but things weren’t easy after I graduated from Boston University in 2008 with a journalism degree, and after two years of relative unemployment, I jumped at the chance to take a job as a copy editor/page designer. It didn’t matter that it was in a city I’d never heard of far from home; I needed the work, so I went (heck, if anyplace in Alaska had wanted to hire me, I would’ve gone there, too). The transition to a “Southern” life has been relatively easy. I still miss my family nearly every day, as well as good public transportation, easy access to big cities and decent food choices (gosh, I miss good Italian food. And fresh seafood. And Thai food. And Dells. Basically anything that’s not fast food). I also miss being able to find anyone to agree with on politics, religion, abortion, gay marriage, immigration, gun laws, etc. But the cost of living down here is cheaper, and the people are super friendly and helpful. My coworkers have become a second family. And I discovered I like barbecue and grits and biscuits, and that I can still be friends with people who have much different views than I do. I still want to move back up North one day, hopefully to Boston, but for now I’m very happy where I am.

I’ll probably post stuff about my job and the rest of my life: family drama, my love of traveling (I have a ton of photos from my Spain trip in 2012 that I’ll put up), new recipes I try (thank you, Pinterest), reviews of any books I read or movies I see, fashion stuff, and links to news stories I find interesting.

So, hopefully you and others will read and enjoy at least one of my posts and let me know with a nice comment. Or, if you (respectively) disagree with anything I put here, that you let me know why. In return, I’ll try to not be so long-winded in my posts and will respond to comments as soon as possible. I’m hoping to post at least a little thing everyday, or at least 5 times a week. It’s been a while since I’ve kept a regular writing schedule so we’ll see. I’m still learning a lot about life and myself and blogging — hope you can come along with me!

2 thoughts on “Oh, the pressure of the first post

Leave a Reply

